Message from the Division Chair

Phone: 815-937-3707 ext. 6409

Email:

Degrees and Certifications:

Meagan Akerman

The science teachers at BBCHS are all very passionate about science and helping students share in that passion. We are always looking to develop and implement new ideas and methods to help us with that goal. We offer many opportunities for students to gain an appreciation for science both in and out of the classroom.  We have 14 science teachers in the department, all of which are highly qualified to teach science in high school.  

Our course offerings are currently Biology, Pre-AP Biology, Chemistry, Honors Chemistry, Physics, Honors Physics, Anatomy and Physiology, and Advanced placement Biology, Chemistry, Physics, and Environmental Science. Other science opportunities include Ecology Club, Science Club, and SWSC Science Competition. BBCHS Science teachers also get involved in community events like the IKAN Family Fun-a-thon to share their passion with younger students and the community. 

Please don’t hesitate to contact myself or any of the science teachers if you have any questions or concerns about BBCHS science. We welcome input and appreciate the support you provide to us and to your students. Together we will be successful in helping inspire our future scientists, engineers, and productive members of society!

Science Courses by Grade Level

  • Grade 9

  • Grade 10

  • Grade 11

  • Grade 12

Science Teachers

Name Email Extension
Meagan Akerman makerman@bbchs.org ext. 6409
Ken Akerman kakerman@bbchs.org ext. 6407
Paige Derbas pderbas@bbchs.org ext. 6404
Alex Ewalt aewalt@bbchs.org ext. 6406
Taylor Farnetti tfarnetti@bbchs.org ext. 6402
Jackie Gasca jgasca@bbchs.org ext. 6413
Hannah Kobylarczyk hkobylarczyk@bbchs.org ext. 6403
Amanda Petyko apetyko@bbchs.org ext. 6405
Alex Renchen arenchen@bbchs.org ext. 6410
Bill Sadler bsadler@bbchs.org ext. 6411
Tony Swafford tswafford@bbchs.org ext. 6414
Ryan Verver rverver@bbchs.org ext. 6416
Stephanie Walker swalker@bbchs.org ext. 6401
Robert White rwhite@bbchs.org ext. 6415