Quick Links
Skip to main contentSkip to navigation

Bradley-Bourbonnais Community High School District 307

Departments

Working...

Ajax Loading Image

 

WELCOME TO THE BBCHS SCIENCE DEPARTMENT

 

 
MESSAGE FROM THE DEPARTMENT CHAIR: Meagan Akerman

The science teachers at BBCHS are all very passionate about science and helping students share in that passion. We are always looking to develop and implement new ideas and methods to help us with that goal. We offer many opportunities for students to gain an appreciation for science both in and out of the classroom.  We have 14 science teachers in the department, all of which are highly qualified to teach science in high school.  

Our course offerings are currently Biology, Chemistry, Physics, Anatomy and Physiology, and Advanced placement Biology, Chemistry, Physics, and Environmental Science. Other science opportunities include Ecology club, Science club, and SWSC Science Competition. BBCHS Science teachers also get involved in community events like the IKAN Family Fun-a-thon to share their passion with younger students and the community. 

Please don’t hesitate to contact myself or any of the science teachers if you have any questions or concerns about BBCHS science. We welcome input and appreciate the support you provide to us and to your students. Together we will be successful in helping inspire our future scientists, engineers, and productive members of society!

 
PARENT RESOURCES AND LINKS

Science Courses
by Grade level

9

Biology I
Biology I (Honors)

 

10

Chemistry I
Chemistry I (Honors)

11

Human Anatomy & Physiology
Physics
Physics (Honors)
A.P. Biology
A.P. Physics
A.P. Environmental Science

12

Human Anatomy & Physiology
Physics
Physics (Honors)
A.P. Biology
A.P. Physics
A.P. Chemistry
A.P. Environmental Science
 

Courses are available for both college bound and technical students, which integrate hands-on, lab activities, cooperative learning, and technology to help teach scientific concepts. Our lab facilities allow students to gain experience with modern laboratory techniques and procedures.  Laboratory experiences are provided at each grade level.

 

Elective courses are available for grades 11&12 including Anatomy and Physiology.  Honors and weighted courses are available for grades 9 through 12.  Advanced Placement Biology, Chemistry, Physics, and Environmental Science are offered to prepare students for the College A.P. Exam. 

 

SCIENCE TEACHERS (BBCHS Main Line 815-937-3707 then enter the extension number for the teacher)

Last Name First Email Title Courses Phone
Akerman Meagan MAkerman@bbchs.org Teacher/Dept. Chair Chemistry, Honors Chemistry ext. 6409
Akerman Ken KAkerman@bbchs.org Teacher Chemistry, Honors Chemistry ext. 6407
Derbas Paige PDerbas@bbchs.org Teacher Anatomy, Biology ext. 6404
Dryfhout Tammy Tdryfhout@bbchs.org Teacher Chemistry, Physics ext. 6412
Farnetti Taylor TFarnetti@bbchs.org Teacher Biology, Physics ext.
Kobylarczyk Hannah HKobylarczyk@bbchs.org Teacher Chemistry, Honors Physics ext.
Petyko Amanda Apetyko@bbchs.org Teacher Physics ext. 6405
Renchen Alex ARenchen@bbchs.org Teacher Biology ext. 6410
Rewerts Laura LRewerts@bbchs.org Teacher Anatomy, Chemistry ext. 6406
Sadler Bill BSadler@bbchs.org Teacher AP Environmental Science, Honors Physics ext. 6411
Schreiner Jim JSchreiner@bbchs.org Teacher Biology, Honors Biology ext. 6413
Swafford Tony TSwafford@bbchs.org Teacher Honors Biology, AP Biology ext. 6414
Walker Stephanie SWalker@bbchs.org Teacher Chemistry, AP Chemistry ext. 6401
White Robert RWhite@bbchs.org Asst. Curr. Dir. AP Physics ext. 6415